Vegan Food and Beer Fest hits Portland Saturday

Event held at Zidell Yards

Drinks offered at the Vegan Beer and Food Fest. (KOIN)

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — The Vegan Beer and Food Fest will be held on Saturday at the Zidell Yards.

A vegan big mac. (Instagram/ Vegan Beer and Food Fest)
A vegan big mac. (Instagram/ Vegan Beer and Food Fest)

The event kicks off at 1 p.m. Tickets are being sold online and give patrons access for over 40 vegan restaurants, a pop up marketplace and live music.

The general admission ticket gives you a 4oz tasting glass, 40 vouchers redeemable for 1 pour of beer or wine each and bottomless pours of kombucha, craft soda and cold brew.

What’s the difference between vegan beer and regular beer?

Here is a list of the most common animal products that are used in brewing:

  • Isinglass– Clarifier that is very common in brewing. Comes from the dried swim bladders of fish. Almost all cask conditioned ale uses isinglass as a clarifier, although it is more common in England than the U.S.
  • Gelatin– Clarifier obtained from the skin, connective tissue, and bones of animals. Typically taken from cattle and frozen pigskin.
  • Casein/Potassium Caseinate– Protein found in cow milk used as a clarifier.
  • Charcoal– Used for filtering. A portion is usually produced from animal bones.
  • Diatomaceous earth– Used in filtering. Comes from fossils or sea shells.
  • Insects– Made into dyes and used for coloring.
  • Glyceryl monostearate– Animal derived substance used to control foam.
  • Pepsin– Also used to control foam; it is sometimes derived from pork.
  • White sugar– Flavor additive often whitened using bone charcoal.
  • Albium– Refers to any protein that is water soluble. Most common type in brewing is serum albumin, which is taken from animal blood.
  • Lactose– Beers labeled as sweet, milk, or cream stouts may or may not contain lactose.  Sometimes the description refers to the texture and not the ingredient.  It’s best to double check these to be sure.  Milk chocolate is common in certain styles, but some so-called “chocolate” porters or stouts actually contain no real chocolate at all. Some malted barley is called “chocolate malt” simply to describe the flavor the roasting imparts.

*source – No Meat Athlete

Comments are closed.