PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Nearly a year after voters approved it and months after possession became legal, retail sales of marijuana in Oregon begin Thursday.
Initially, retail sales weren’t going to start until January 1, 2016, but the Oregon legislature OK’d a plan to let already-open medical marijuana dispensaries begin selling pot 3 months early.
More than 200 of the state’s 345 medical marijuana dispensaries have plans to begin selling recreational marijuana on October 1.
The Portland City Council voted to limit operating hours for dispensaries to between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during a meeting Wednesday. But the city can’t enforce those hours until shops have a license from the city, which won’t be available until December. Until then, they can operate anytime, day or night.
The City Council also passed an ordinance recreational pot stores can’t be within 1000 feet of each other.
Click the picture to find a medical marijuana dispensary with retail sales
A few points to know:
Taxes on recreational sales won’t start until Jan. 4, when a 25% tax on retail sales will be added.
Adults over 21 can buy a quarter ounce of buds.
Candy bars and brownies, as well as extracts, concentrates and marijuana-infused products are not available in early sales.
Customers must provide a valid, government-issued photo ID as proof of age.
A pot shortage is also the biggest worry for those in the medical marijuana community, who fear the start of recreational sales will negatively impact medical marijuana patients.
Some dispensaries will begin selling legal weed at 12:01 a.m. Thursday, but not all.
Starting Thursday citizens with complaints about a medical dispensary related to nuisance issues or hours of operation can call the Marijuana Complaint Hotline at 503.823.9333
There are many hashtags associated with Oregon’s retail pot sales, but #legalweed is pretty good.