State of Oregon Governor – Primary

The Oregon Capitol, Feb. 26, 2014 (KOIN 6 News)
The Oregon Capitol, Feb. 26, 2014 (KOIN 6 News)

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Voters around the state of Oregon are already casting their ballots ahead of the May 20 primary election.

Most of the races are local issues on bonds and levies. Here is a look at one of the higher profile races.

All information compiled on the Oregon League of Women Voter’s website.


The governor is elected to a four-year term and is limited to two consecutive terms in office during any 12-year period. The governor must be a U.S. citizen, at least 30 years old and an Oregon resident for three years before taking office.

The governor provides leadership, planning and coordination for the executive branch of state government. He appoints many department and agency heads within the executive branch and appoints members to nearly 300 policymaking, regulatory and advisory boards and commissions.

The governor proposes a two-year budget to the Legislature, recommends a legislative program to each regular session and may also call special sessions. He reviews all bills passed by the Legislature and may veto measures he believes are not in the public interest.

The governor chairs both the State Land Board, which manages state-owned lands, and the Progress Board, which sets strategic goals for Oregon. The governor acts as Superintendent of Public Instruction, directs state government’s coordination with local and federal governments and is commander-in-chief of the state’s military forces.

The governor appoints judges to fill vacancies in judicial office, has extradition authority and may grant reprieves, commutations and pardons of criminal sentences.

If the office of governor becomes vacant, the office passes, in order, to the secretary of state, state treasurer, president of the Senate and speaker of the House of Representatives.
There is no lieutenant governor in Oregon.

Source: Oregon Blue Book

Democratic candidates:
Ifeanyichukwu C Diru
John Kitzhaber, Governor of Oregon

Republican candidates:
Tim Carr
Gordon Challstrom
Bruce A Cuff
Darren Karr
Mae Rafferty
Dennis Richardson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s